About the park

Park foundation

The foundation of the pACentral amusement park was originally called the Nikolaev suburban park and was founded in 1893-1895. Then the city government proposed planting from 20 to 40 acres (1 tithe - 1.09 ha) on both sides of Sumy highway.

Since the allocated site was quite far from the city, the park was mainly intended for horse riding. They decided to smash it on the model of the Bois de Boulogne in France - with alleys for riding and riding in carriages.

For this purpose, along with the chestnut and linden alleys, the plan provided for the creation of the so-called “Crew” alley. In addition to them, the future park according to the project was to be distinguished by a large number of picturesque clearings and solitary trees. Thanks to the enthusiasm of the residents of the city, with the active participation of students and gymnasium students, the area of planting increased significantly, and by the time it was opened for visits in 1907, the park had increased its size by almost 2.5 times.

Park before the war

In the Soviet era, the park entered with a new name: since it could not remain Nikolaev, in 1919 it became Communal. During the years of the revolution, the park suffered significant damage. But already in the spring of 1932, systematic and systematic restoration work began.

In the ten pre-war years, dramatic changes took place in the city park and forest park: the tram line was extended to Lesopark (1930), a trolleybus line from the city center to the park was opened (1939), and the Children's Railway was built with the Park end stations and "Forest Park" (1940).

Also, the Green Theater, a reading pavilion, a cinema, attractions, a parachute tower, which existed at least until the mid-1960s, were opened. Dynamo stadium appeared very close by. In the late 1930s, after the death of the writer Maxim Gorky, the park was named after him. From this moment, the townspeople visited the Central Park of Culture and Rest named after M. Gorky.

The war caused huge damage to Kharkov. During the occupation, a significant part of Gorky Park was cut down for firewood, the only cedar grove in Ukraine perished.

Post-war years

In the postwar years, from 1943 to 1953, squares and parks began to be actively revived in Kharkov; almost three million trees and shrubs were planted. As for Gorky Park, the main plantings in it, with which, in fact, its revival began, were carried out in 1946-1948. In 1952, a colonnade was built at the entrance to the park, designed by architects A. Krynkin and E. Svyatchenko.

In 1971, a cableway with a length of 1387 meters was put into operation on the territory of the park, which is still operating. Its route passes from the Park station through TsPKO im. M. Gorky and Sargin Yar to the Pavlovo Pole station. The Kharkov cable car was designed by the Prommekhanizatsiya Design Institute (Kharkov).

In 1960-80, the Green pop theater and the only color music hall in the Ukrainian SSR, led by Yuri Alekseevich Pravdyuk, worked in the park. Abandoned in the early 1990s, the color music hall fell into disrepair and a few years later it was demolished. Also in 1980, at the entrance to the park, a monument to Gorky was erected, on which sculptor L. worked.

New millennium

In 2006, by the Day of the city, the colonnade was restored at the entrance to the park from the side of Sumskaya Street, demolished in the summer of 2001. In 2007, the fountain in the central square of the park was restored. In the spring of 2011, Gorky Park was closed for large-scale reconstruction. The monument was transferred to the Kuryazh colony, where Gorky often came to the pupils of Makarenko. Old pavilions and attractions were dismantled.

 

Global reconstruction

In 2010, a project began on the global reconstruction of the Park. It was a very large-scale project, which was able to be implemented in the shortest possible time.

On August 22, 2012, on the eve of the opening, the President of Ukraine visited the renewed park. On August 23, 2012, on the day of the liberation of Kharkov, the Central Amusement Park was inaugurated. The opening ceremony was attended by the chairman of the Kharkiv Regional State Administration Mikhail Dobkin, the mayor Gennady Kernes, the managing director of the Kharkov diocese of the UOC Archbishop of Kharkov and Bogodukhovsky Onufry, people's deputies of Ukraine and tens of thousands of Kharkiv citizens.

The squirrel became the symbol of the renewed park. For many decades, more than one generation of Kharkov citizens has come to feed these cute animals. This tradition is an integral part of the park.

During the reconstruction, new attractions made in Germany, Italy, Canada, France and the UK were installed. All rides 2011-2012 years of production. Among them - the best entertainment center in Ukraine, a roller coaster, the largest Ferris wheel in Ukraine (height - 55 m), the French carousel, the House of Horrors, as well as attractions for young children, a complex for extreme sports lovers, a rollerdrome, a retro zone , sports grounds, race track and other facilities.

Everything that was created in the Central Amusement Park was made by Kharkiv citizens for Kharkov citizens as well. The park has become the hallmark of Kharkov. This is a place where you can relax and have fun.

 

Park these days

Now the park is developing and every year surprises its visitors with new entertainments and beauties.

Recently, more than 1000 new plants and trees have appeared in the park, many of which were planted thanks to the “Plant a Tree” campaign.

Also in the park every year new entertainments for children and adults appear, for example, Billy Kid's Lair - a unique playground in the style of the Wild West.

In 2019, the Fairytale House was opened with a unique facade with animatronic figures of Snow White and the seven dwarfs. Inside there is a cafeteria and quest rooms.

Park map

О парке

Основание парка

Центральный парк развлечений первоначально назывался загородным Николаевским парком и был заложен в 1893-1895 годах. Тогда городская власть предложила засадить деревьями от 20 до 40 десятин (1 десятина – 1,09 га) по обе стороны Сумского шоссе.

Поскольку выделенный участок находился достаточно далеко от города, то парк, в основном, предназначался для конных прогулок. Его решили разбить по образцу Булонского леса во Франции — с аллеями для верховой езды и катания в экипажах.

С этой целью наряду с каштановой и липовой аллеями планом предусматривалось создание так называемой «Экипажной» аллеи. Помимо них будущий парк по проекту должен был отличаться большим количеством живописных полян и одиночных деревьев. Благодаря энтузиазму жителей города, при активном участии студентов и гимназистов, площадь посадок существенно росла, и к моменту своего открытия для посещений в 1907 году, парк увеличил свои размеры почти в 2,5 раза.

Парк до войны

В советскую эпоху парк вступил с новым именем: поскольку оставаться Николаевским он не мог, в 1919 году он стал Коммунальным. В годы революции парку был нанесен значительный урон. Но уже с весны 1932 году началась систематическая и планомерная восстановительная работа.

За десять предвоенных лет в городском парке и лесопарковой зоне произошли разительные перемены: была продлена до Лесопарка трамвайная линия (1930 г.), открыта троллейбусная линия от центра города до парка (1939 г.), построена Детская железная дорога с конечными станциями «Парк» и «Лесопарк» (1940 г.).

Также были открыты Зеленый театр, павильон-читальня, кинотеатр, аттракционы, построена парашютная вышка, просуществовавшая как минимум до середины 1960 годов. Совсем рядом появился стадион «Динамо». В конце 1930 годов, после смерти писателя Максима Горького парку присвоено его имя. С этого момента горожане посещали уже Центральный парк культуры и отдыха им. М. Горького.

Война нанесла Харькову громадный ущерб. За время оккупации была вырублена на дрова значительная часть парка Горького, погибла единственная в Украине кедровая роща.

Послевоенные годы

В послевоенные годы, с 1943 по 1953 год, в Харькове начали активно возрождать скверы и парки, было высажено почти три миллиона деревьев и кустарников. Что касается парка Горького, то основные посадки в нем, с которых, по сути, и началось его возрождение, были проведены в 1946-1948 годах. В 1952 году на входе в парк была построена колоннада по проекту архитекторов А. Крынкина и Е. Святченко.

В 1971 году на территории парка была введена в эксплуатацию подвесная канатная дорога протяженностью 1387 метров, которая работает и сейчас. Ее маршрут проходит от станции «Парк» через ЦПКО им. М.Горького и Саржин яр до станции «Павлово Поле». Спроектировал харьковскую канатку проектно-конструкторский институт «Проммеханизация» (Харьков).

В 1960-80 годы в парке работали Зеленый эстрадный театр и единственный в УССР зал цветомузыки под руководством Юрия Алексеевича Правдюка. Заброшенный в начале 1990 годов, зал цветомузыки пришел в ветхость и через несколько лет его снесли. Также в 1980 году при входе в парк был установлен памятник Горькому, над которым работал скульптор Л. Белостоцкий. У памятника необычная судьба: в конце 1990 годов его демонтировали, затем 23 августа 2006 года восстановили (постамент другой, скульптура та же самая).

Новое тысячилетие

В 2006 году ко Дню города была восстановлена колоннада на входе в парк со стороны ул.Сумской, снесенная летом 2001 года. В 2007 году был отреставрирован фонтан на центральной площади парка. Весной 2011 года парк Горького был закрыт на масштабную реконструкцию. Памятник перенесли в Куряжскую колонию, куда Горький часто приезжал к воспитанникам Макаренко. Старые павильоны и аттракционы демонтировали.

 

Глобальная реконструкция

В 2010м году начался проект по глобальной реконструкции Парка. Это был очень масштабный проект, который удалось реализовать за минимальные сроки.

22 августа 2012 года, накануне открытия, обновленный парк посетил президент Украины. 23 августа 2012 года, в День освобождения Харькова, Центральный парк развлечений был торжественно открыт. В церемонии открытия приняли участие председатель Харьковской облгосадминистрации Михаил Добкин, городской голова Геннадий Кернес, управляющий Харьковской епархией УПЦ архиепископ Харьковский и Богодуховский Онуфрий, народные депутаты Украины и десятки тысяч харьковчан.

Символом обновленного парка стала белочка. Покормить этих милых зверьков уже много десятилетий в парк приезжает не одно поколение харьковчан. Эта традиция – неотъемлемая часть парка.

Во время реконструкции установлены новые аттракционы, произведенные в Германии, Италии, Канаде, Франции и Великобритании. Все аттракционы 2011-2012 годов производства. Среди них — лучший в Украине Развлекательный центр, американские горки, самое большое в Украине колесо обозрения (высота — 55 м), Французская карусель, Дом ужасов, а также аттракционы для маленьких детей, комплекс для любителей экстремальных видов спорта, роллердром, ретро-зона, спортивные площадки, автодром и другие объекты.

Все, что создано в Центральном парке развлечений, сделано харьковчанами и для харьковчан. Парк стал визитной карточкой Харькова. Это место, где можно прекрасно отдохнуть и весело провести время.

 

Парк в наши дни

Сейчас парк развивается и каждый год удивляет своих посетителей новыми развлечениями и красотами.

За последнее время в парке появилось более 1000 новых растений и деревьев, многие из которых были высажены благодаря акции “Посади дерево”.

Также в парке каждый год появляются новые развлечения для детей и взрослых, например Логово Билли Кида – уникальная детская площадка в стиле Дикого запада.

В 2019г был открыт Сказочный дом с уникальным фасадом с аниматронными фигурками Белоснежки и семи гномов. Внутри расположились кафетерий и квест-комнаты.

Карта парка